More Silver Including a Silver Half

First off, I’ve neglected keeping my Blog up to date.  It’s been going really slow with a long dry spell and now a ton of rain.  Finding new places to hunt has been tough.  I managed to find a couple of pockets in old parks that yielded a couple of Mercs, a Rosie and a very worn Standing Liberty Quarter with no date. (Thats two now with no dates, bummer) Mostly I’ve been hitting the same old places and picking up what we’ve missed.  I picked up a Barber dime that was only 3-4″ deep around a tree that was been hit before.  It was about 4″ from trash and I found it because I went from a different direction.  Makes you wonder how much is missed?  I guess that’s what keeps me going back to the same ole places.  I did hit an area park that was created in 1951.  I hunted for an hour or so and was about to give up when I got an interesting signal.  My numbers were 1-44, 1-45 and then 12-46 and trash numbers.  I previously dug two old smashed cans with similar numbers, but this target hit 12-46 a lot.  It was hard to pinpoint so I dug a large plug.  As I pulled the plug I saw a large silver coin fall back into the hole.  It was a Walking Liberty Half and I nicked it despite the large plug. A wheat and pull tab was in the plug also. The half was dated 1945 and the wheat was 1952.  I can only assume people were still carrying Walkers in the 50’s. Hopefully my finds will increase and I will try to do better with my blog.  I still have a long way to go to hit 100.

20160911_094055

20160910_172309

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

mdfinds.wordpress.com/

Find yesterdays history through today's world.

Eh. It's a blog.

My mindscape, from the inside out.

randy's Metal Detecting Blog

He who seeks buried treasure

The Dirt Is Good To Me

Finds and ruminations from a numismatic excavator

